Client Area | NQA

ISO 9001 and ISO 14001 have gone through a major revision and the new standards ISO 9001:2015 and ISO 14001:2015 were published in September 2015. This is a significant revision for both standards and will require you to take action.

The changes between the old standards and the 2015 versions are significant and will require an extensive evaluation of your existing Quality/Environmental Management System (QMS/EMS) to ascertain the degree of conformity with the new risk based approach detailed in ISO 9001:2015 and ISO 14001:2015. 

We have developed a transition guidance plan for the standards:

Our goal is to provide you with the guidance and tools to make the transition as smooth and cost-free as possible. 

This guidance explains:

  • The background for the changes
  • General transition guidance
  • Your options for the transition
  • The transition process and tools to assist you

Organizations with ISO 9001:2008 and/or ISO 14001:2004 in place now have two years to transition to the new 2015 standard with the expiration date of existing certifications being on or before the 15th September 2018. 

As with any transition it is important that you take the time to understand the core changes and don’t forget to ask NQA if you have any questions relating to the standard and/or the transition. 


Over the years, ISO has published many management system standards for topics ranging from quality, environment and energy to information security. Despite sharing common elements, ISO management system standards often have different structures and other unique features. This can cause some challenges during implementation, particularly for integrated management systems.
In April 2012 the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) published Annex SL (previously ISO Guide 83) of the Consolidated ISO Supplement of the ISO/IEC Directives. The introduction of Annex SL ensures consistency among future and revised management system standards and makes integrated use of these standards far simpler. It also makes the standards easier to read, understand and act on.