Home Resources News

Safety & Health Excellence Awards Winners

26 April 2018
On Wednesday 11th April the Vox in Birmingham hosted the prestigious Safety & Health Excellence Awards. 

The event saw 350 attendees join together to celebrate excellence in safety, health, security and fire where they enjoyed a meal, live music and entertainment and a fantastic comedy set from well-known comedian and impressionist Rory Bremner who ultimately hosted the Awards. 

NQA was proud to be sponsoring the Health & Safety Manager of the Year award, this category was designed to recognise a health and safety manager who made a significant contribution to the implementation or enhancement of health, safety or wellbeing standards within either their own or a client organisation. The individual must also have had a role wherein at least 50% of all tasks undertaken are focused directly at the host organisation’s core health, safety and wellbeing functions. They must also have made a significant contribution to the introduction and promotion of standards within the health, safety or wellbeing since 1 June 2016. 

This award was presented to Terry Edwards of the Bedfordshire NHS Trust, after being nominated by his colleagues, for his outstanding contribution to the industry. Also recognition is required for Claire Green (Airconic) who received the Highly Commended status and Robin Gibson (Morgan Sindall Construction) who received the Commended status for this award category. An esteemed panel of key industry figures whittled down more than 150 entries to a shortlist of 75 entries across nine categories. The panel of judges include Teresa Budworth (NEBOSH), Dr Bob Docherty (Institute of Fire Safety Managers), James Kelly (British Security Industry Association), Ian Moore (Fire Industry Association), Niall Rowan (Association for Specialist Fire Protection), Neal Stone (ex-British Safety Council), Rob Strange (ex-Institution of Occupational Safety and Health) and Colin Webb (Oxford University).

NQA would like to wish all winners and entrants on the night huge congratulations for their hard work and we look forward to taking part again in the future.